Call for nominations: 2021 Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize

The Jury would like to issue a call for nominations for the 2021 Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize, which is awarded annually for the best work in History and/or  Philosophy of Modern Physics, done by a student as a requirement for a Masters Thesis. The prize carries a 2000 euro award. Nominations for this Prize need to be submitted by a supervisor of the nominee before November 14, 2021. We would also like to issue a special encouragement for the nomination of candidates from underrepresented groups. 

Recent winners of the HJMP include Emilia Margoni, Grace Field, Ruward Mulder, James Read, Neil Dewar and Ben Feintzeig.

The Jury:

  • Jos Uffink (University of Minnesota)
  • Klaas Landsman (Radboud University, Nijmegen)
  • Christoph Lehner (Max Planck Institute,  Berlin)   
  • Francesca Vidotti (Western University, Ontario)
  • Guido Bacciagaluppi (Utrecht University)

Detailed stipulations:

Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize

This prize is founded in memory of Hanneke Janssen to honour her person and her work in the field of history and philosophy of physics, both as a student and as Managing Editor of the journal Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics.

1.    Subject

Eligible for the above prize is any thesis or paper, submitted for a Master’s degree, on the subject of History and Philosophy of Modern Physics. The boundaries of this subject are taken to include: all aspects of the history and philosophy of modern physics broadly understood, including physical aspects of astronomy, chemistry and other non-biological sciences. The primary focus is on physics from the mid/late-nineteenth century to the present, the period of emergence of the kind of theoretical physics that has come to dominate the exact sciences in the twentieth century.

2.    Prize and participation

2.1 The winner of the prize receives 2000 euro.

2.2 The winner is invited to submit an article, based on the winning thesis, for publication in the journal Foundations of Physics.

2.3 The winner is invited to give a seminar on the winning thesis at the Institute for Mathematics, Astrophysics and Particle Physics (Radboud University, Nijmegen) and at the Institute for History and Foundations of Science (Utrecht University).

2.4 Participation is open to Master students worldwide, but only through nomination by (one of) the supervisors of the thesis.

2.5 Only theses completed within two academic years before the deadline for submissions (see below) are eligible. Time schedule:

  • Deadline for submission of nominations: November 14, 2021.
  • Decision by the jury: November 28, 2021
  • Prize ceremony and seminars: December 17, 2021
  • The prize will be awarded yearly.

3.    Requirements

3.1 The thesis must be approved within the period September 1, 2020 – August 31, 2021.

3.2 The thesis must be written in English, and made available to the jury in digital format, preferably as a pdf file.

3.3 The submission must be accompanied by a statement from the supervisor(s) of the thesis motivating the nomination.

3.4 The thesis and nomination are accompanied by the personal data of the author, including an email address, a brief curriculum vitae of the author, and proof that the thesis was approved at the student’s University (or other Institution of higher learning) within the mentioned time frame, and the mark received.

3.5 The submission should be sent by e-mail to  with subject “Hanneke Jansen Memorial Prize”.

4.    Decision procedure:

The jury consists of:

  • Prof. Dr.  J. Uffink  (University of Minnesota)  (chair)
  • Prof. Dr.  N.P  Landsman (Radboud University)
  • Dr.  Ch.  Lehner (Max Planck Institute,  Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Francesca Vidotti  (Western University)
  • Prof. Dr. Guido Bacciagaluppi (Utrecht University)

Secretariat of the jury is held by Gertie Verberk (Radboud University/IMAPP)

4.1  Submissions will be judged  on:

  • Originality
  • Scientific value
  • Intellectual depth
  • Form and presentation
  • Readability

4.2 The jury reserves the right to refuse submissions.

4.3 Participants and nominators will receive written notice about the decision.

4.4 The jury reserves the right to withhold awarding the prize if submissions lack sufficient quality.

4.5 In all cases where these stipulations do not provide, the Chair of the jury will decide.

5.    Information

Questions about the procedure and requirements for submission can be directed at the Secretary of the jury:

Mrs. Gertie Verberk,  Radboud University
Telephone:       +31 (0)24 3652098


Leave a comment

Filed under Graduate student corner, Prizes, wuthrich

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s