Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize 2020 winner: Emilia Margoni

The 2020 Hanneke Janssen Memorial Prize in history and philosophy of modern physics is awarded to Emilia Margoni for her Thesis An investigation into temporal becoming within timeless strategies in physics, submitted to the Sapienza University in Rome. 

This Thesis discusses the question of  whether and how the metaphysical notion of “becoming”  relates to the treatment of time in modern physical theories. 

Previous prize winners:

2010 Ronnie Hermens
2011 not awarded
2012 Martin Jähnert
2013 Neil Dewar
2014 Benjamin Feintzeig
2015 Joshua R. Hunt
2016 James Read
2017 Omid Charrakh
2018 Ruward Mulder
2019 Grace Field


Leave a comment

Filed under Graduate student corner, Prizes, wuthrich

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s