12th International Workshop on Quantum Physics and Logic (QPL)

July 13-17, Oxford, United Kingdom

The 12th International Workshop on Quantum Physics and Logic (QPL) will take place at the Department of Computer Science of the University of Oxford between Wednesday 15 and Friday 17 July, 2015. The workshop will be preceded by tutorials on Monday 13 and Tuesday 14 July 2015.

This workshop brings together researchers working on mathematical foundations of quantum physics, quantum computing, spatio-temporal causal structures, and related areas such as computational linguistics. Of particular interest are topics that use logical tools, ordered algebraic and category-theoretic structures, formal languages, semantical methods and other computer science methods for the study of physical behaviour in general.

Previous QPL events were held in Kyoto (2014), Barcelona (2013), Brussels (2012), Nijmegen (2011), Oxford (2010), Oxford (2009), Reykjavik (2008), Oxford (2006), Chicago (2005), Turku (2004), and Ottawa (2003).


Dan Browne (University College London)
Paul Busch (University of York)
Chris Douglas (University of Oxford)
Lucien Hardy (Perimeter Institute)


Dan Browne (University College London)
Paul Busch (University of York)
Oscar Dahlsten (University of Oxford)
Pawel Sobocinski (University of Southampton)


Submission Deadline: May 1, 2015
Notification of Acceptance: June 1
Papers Ready: June 15
Tutorials: July 13-14
Workshop: July 15-17


Prospective speakers are invited to submit a contribution to the workshop.

– *Short contributions* consist of a 3 page description of the work, and a link to a paper available elsewhere.

– Longer *original contributions* consist of a 5-12 page extended abstract which provides sufficient evidence of results of genuine interest and provides sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the work. Submissions of works in progress are encouraged but must be more substantial than a research proposal.

Extended versions of accepted original research contributions will be published in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) after the workshop.

Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX, and must be submitted in PDF format. Use of the EPTCS style is encouraged. Submission is done via EasyChair:

There will be an award for the best paper whose authors are all students, at the discretion of the programme committee.


Please visit the website to register. We encourage participation by graduate students, and will be able to provide limited reimbursement to partially support students for travel and accommodation. Further information is found on the workshop website.


John Baez (University of California Riverside)
Dan Browne (University College London)
Giulio Chiribella (Tsinghua University)
Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
Ross Duncan (University of Strathclyde)
Tobias Fritz (Perimeter Institute)
Simon Gay (University of Glasgow)
Ichiro Hasuo (University of Tokyo)
Chris Heunen (University of Oxford, co-chair)
Matty Hoban (University of Oxford)
Bart Jacobs (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Viv Kendon (Durham University)
Matt Leifer (Perimeter Institute)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
Dusko Pavlovic (University of Hawaii)
Simon Perdrix (CNRS Nancy)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary University of London)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University, co-chair)
Rob Spekkens (Perimeter Institute)
Bas Spitters (Aarhus University)
Isar Stubbe (Universite du Littoral-Cote-d’Opale)
Jamie Vicary (University of Oxford, co-chair)
Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology Sydney, Tsinghua University)


Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)


Destiny Chen
Chris Heunen
Jamie Vicary


Leave a comment

Filed under Calls for Abstracts/Papers/Contributions, Conference announcements/CFPs, wuthrich

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s