Nobel Prize 2013: Englert and Higgs

As expected, and as you probably heard (but just in case you haven’t), this year’s physics Nobel Prize was awarded to Englert and Higgs “for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider”.

Does this mean that the experimental groups ATLAS and CMS will not receive the prize, or will they receive it next year? (I.e. their leaders or speakers, as the physics prize cannot be given to groups or to more than three individuals)


Leave a comment

Filed under Prizes, wuthrich

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s